[Athen] ASSETS 2007 Call for Participation (fwd)

Jennison Asuncion asuncion at alcor.concordia.ca
Sun Aug 26 17:43:57 PDT 2007


Thought some here might find this conference of interest.


Jennison Asuncion
Co-Director, Adaptech Research Network

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Wed, 22 Aug 2007 08:19:36 -0400
From: Kathlene Leonard <vkathleneleonard at gmail.com>
To: vkathleneleonard at gmail.com
Subject: ASSETS 2007 Call for Participation


Ninth International ACM SIGACCESS Conference on Computers and Accessibility

October 15-17, 2007
Tempe, AZ, USA


The ASSETS series of conferences explores the potential for Computer
and Information Technologies to enhance the lives of individuals with
disabilities and those around them. ASSETS is the premier forum for
presenting innovative research on the design and use of both
mainstream and specialized assistive technologies to support people
with disabilities. Since 1994, the Association for Computing
Machinery (ACM) and its SIGACCESS Special Interest Group on Accessible
Computing has sponsored the ASSETS series of conferences. This year's
conference includes formal paper sessions, demonstrations, posters, a
doctoral consortium, and a student research competition. The single
track and friendly atmosphere make ASSETS the ideal venue to meet
researchers, practitioners, developers and policymakers to exchange
ideas, share information, and make new contacts.

Keynote Speaker

Jonathan Wolpaw, from the Wadsworth Center, will give a talk titled:
"Brain-Computer Interfaces for Communication and Control".


High quality, original submissions will cover topics relevant to
computers and accessibility. This includes the use of technology by
and in support of:

* Individuals with hearing, sight and other sensory impairments
* Individuals with motor impairments
* Individuals with memory, learning and cognitive impairments
* Individuals with multiple impairments
* Older adults

Researchers and practitioners will present novel ideas, designs,
techniques, systems, tools, evaluations, scientific investigations,
methodologies, social issues or policy issues relating to:

* assistive technologies that improve day-to-day life
* assistive technologies that improve access to mainstream Computer
and Information Technologies
* innovative use of mainstream technologies to overcome access barriers
* accessibility and usability of mainstream technologies
* identification of barriers to technology access that are not
addressed by existing research

ASSETS accepts submissions in the following categories:

* Technical papers
* Posters
* Demonstrations
* Student research competition
* Doctoral consortium

Registration Information

The registration costs for ASSETS 2007 are as follows:

Early Registration (before 9/17/2007)
ACM/SIGACCESS members $435
Non-ACM/SIGACCESS members $535
Student $250

Late and on-site Registration (after 9/17/2007)
ACM/SIGACCESS members $535
Non-ACM/SIGACCESS members $635
Student $300
One-day registration $250

Please visit our website for online registration:



General Chair:
Enrico Pontelli (New Mexico State University, USA)

Treasurer & Registration Chair:
Laura Leventhal (Bowling Green State University, USA)

Program Chair:
Shari Trewin (IBM Research, USA)

Associate Chairs for Posters and Demos:
Anna Dickinson (University of Dundee, UK)
Joy Goodman (University of Cambridge, UK)

Doctoral Consortium Chairs:
Clayton Lewis (University of Colorado, USA)
Sri Kurniawan (University of Manchester, UK)

Student Research Competition Chair:
Harriet Fell (Northeastern University, USA)

Publicity Chairs:
Kathlene Leonard (Alucid Solution, Inc.)
Matt Huenerfauth (City University of New York, Queens College, USA)

Web Development Chair:
Klent Harkness (Wichita State University, USA)

Local Organization Chair:
John Black (Arizona State University, USA)

Technical Program Committee:

Julio Abascal University of the Basque Country, Spain
Ray Adams University of Middlesex, UK.
John Arnott University of Dundee, UK
Chieko Asakawa IBM Research, Japan
Keith Bain Saint Mary's University, Canada
Armando Barreto Florida International University, USA
John Black Arizona State University, USA
Cathy Bodine University of Colorado at Denver, USA
Yevgen Borodin SUNY Stony Brook, USA
Sheryl Burgstahler University of Washington, USA
Noelle Carbonell University Henri Poincare, LORIA, France
Libby Cohen University of Southern Maine, USA
Sara Czaja University of Miami, USA
David Duce Oxford Brookes University, UK
Alistair D.N. Edwards University of York, UK
D. Gareth Evans University of Manchester, UK
Harriet Fell Northeastern University, USA
Torsten Felzer Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany
Jinjuan Feng Towson University, USA
Joan Francioni Winona State University, USA
Peter Gregor University of Dundee, UK
Vicki Hanson IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
Lynda Hardman CWI, The Netherlands
Klent Harkness Wichita State University, USA
Simon Harper University of Manchester, UK
Terri Hedgepeth Arizona State University, USA
Sarah Horton Dartmouth College, USA
Julie Howell Fortune Cookie, UK
Matt Huenerfauth The City University of New York, USA
Julie Jacko Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Arthur Karshmer University of San Francisco, USA
Simeon Keates IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
Richard Ladner University of Washington, USA
Chris Law UMBC, USA
Jonathan Lazar Towson University, USA
Kathlene Leonard Alucid Solution Inc., USA
Clayton Lewis University of Colorado at Boulder, USA
Edmund LoPresti AT Sciences, USA
Jennifer Mankoff Carnegie-Mellon Unversity, USA
Kathleen McCoy University of Delaware, USA
Klaus Miesenberger University of Linz, Austria
Karyn Moffatt University of British Columbia, Canada
Michael Muller IBM Research, USA
Helen Petrie University of York, UK
Michael Pieper Fraunhofer-FIT, Germany
Antti Pirhonen University of Jyvaskyla, Finland
Enrico Pontelli New Mexico State University, USA
Jaime Sanchez University of Chile, Chile
Andrew Sears UMBC, USA
David Sloan University of Dundee, UK
Michael J Smith Fujitsu Consulting, USA
Neil Soiffer Design Science Inc., USA
Constantine Stephanidis FORTH ICS, Greece
Robert Stevens University of Manchester, UK
Hironobu Takagi IBM Research, Japan
Marilyn Tremaine New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
Olga De Troyer Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Gerhard Weber Multimedia Campus Kiel, Germany
Yeliz Yesilada University of Manchester, UK


More information about the athen-list mailing list